The best fashion from Oscars 2014

I don’t often watch the Oscars. I always mean to, but I usually forget about it until Monday morning when Facebook is full of “OMG, did you see her cleav??” and “Um, Meryl Streep/Martin Scorsese/Nicolas Cage was TOTALLY robbed last night.”

But I had a girl friend over this weekend who loves the movies, so I actually watched the show. And sorry, but the best part is looking at the pretty dresses. These were my fav:

Jennifer Garner

I think this was a dress that was made to be moved in. The photo is not doing it justice. When she walked onto stage to present, I got all giddy. So flattering, so interesting, so blingy. Yes.

Jennifer Lawrence

Why? Two words: That fit. The top looks as though it’s just part of her skin. Also, I hate peplum, but if you’re gonna do it, do it THIS way — with just a few pieces on the hips instead of a full-on tutu around your midsection. (See: Julia Roberts)

Lupita Nyong’o

So ethereal. She looks like an angel princess. That plunge is amazing. Her makeup is perfection. And she made a Blair Waldorf hair choice look elegant and demure.

Bradley Cooper

Best-dressed man. So classic. So yum.

Charlize Theron

I’m super digging the top. On closeups, you can see the clear straps, but from a distance, it just looks like the dress is made out of fashionable paper mache, in a perfect, awesome way. I don’t love the bottom half of the dress, but the straps/not straps make up for it.

Chrissy Teigen (AKA Mrs. John Legend)

I admit, I did not see Chrissy on the awards show, but when perusing Entertainment Weekly‘s fashion images, this dress stopped me short. I adore the pattern and color, and it reminds me so much of my Favorite Awards Dress of All Time, as worn by Lucy Liu.

And my absolute, No. 1 favorite?

Bette Midler, during “Wind Beneath my Wings”

The fit is divine. The pattern is amazing. Flattering, unexpected, perfect. If this was short, I would want it so I could wear it all the time. Also, she’s wearing the greatest bra known to man.

Runners up for favorites:

Camilla Alves (AKA, Mrs. McConaughey)

This color is amazing, especially on her complexion, and I kind of dig the one-sided cape thingy.

Cate Blanchett

Awesome, awesome texture.

Kerry Washington

THIS is how you be pregnant at the Oscars. (Not this.)

Which looks were your favorite?

2 thoughts on “The best fashion from Oscars 2014

  1. Lupita looked super, incredibly amazing. You have to have the right chest to pull off that plunge (ie: not much of a chest, lol) and she pulled it off beautifully without looking uncomfortable or like she was about to have a wardrobe malfunction. And you are so right, she looked like a princess.
    I saw her on Ellen today – what a breath of fresh air her personality is!

  2. I love so many of these, though I’m not digging Chrissy Teigen’s dress (2001 prom) or Kerry Washington’s (2002 prom? & she needs an iron). I thought Cate Blanchett’s & Jennifer Garner’s dresses, in particular, were really amazing. I wouldn’t normally have liked the dress Lupita Nyong’o wore because baby blue is not a color I dig, but the whole combination looked so incredible on her that I think she took the cake or got the crown or, oh, WENT HOME WITH AN OSCAR. Wins all around.

I want to hear what you think!

