Tags

,

There are a number of compliments I’ve received in my life that stick in my mind. (Does the fact that they’re mostly from boys make me shallow?)

* When I opened the door for my junior year prom date, he looked at me and said, “Wow.”

* My first love ever, a very romantic boy, once told me, “You’re my perfection.”

* My final love ever, and my greatest love of all (and not in the Whitney Houston way), told me I was curious.

I like to learn about people, which is perhaps why a job as a features reporter is a good fit for me. I love to travel and see things I’ve never seen, and wake up in cities I’ve never seen, and laugh in cities I’ve never seen, and love in cities I’ve never seen.

I love stories, and I love to read. I love to discover the make-believe worlds of Stephen King and the all-too-real worlds of the memoirist.

So titling this slice of bloggerville “Curious” seemed fitting.

I’m looking at Curious Jac as something like Blogging 2.0. Snap, Crackle, Pop served me well, and for a long time — more than three years. I blogged my first blog at Snap, Crackle, Pop on April 17, 2009, and started with a book review.

Over those three years, my little blog home evolved. And by the end, it was unrecognizable. A friend, quoting a blogger, told me, “When blogging becomes a chore, you’re doing it wrong.”

I was doing it wrong.

So here, at Curious Jac, you can expect maybe a post or two a week. I want to write only when I want to write, and not when I feel like I have to. I want to post about things I want to post about. Snap, Crackle, Pop eventually became the blog I associated with Jac & Elsie. Which is fine … but when you write something with the idea that it is associated with something people buy, you keep your opinions to yourself.

And what is good blogging if not opinions?

I could never blog without any mention of the Etsy shop I run and love, but it will certainly be a much smaller presence.

What you’ll find here instead is me. Jaclyn. You’ll find things I love and things I think about. Because when I stepped back and looked at my favorite blogs, the only blogs I get delivered to my inbox (Suburban Sweetheart, Single Girl Blogging, Phase Three of Life and Trying to Be Good, if you must know), I see a very common thread: They’re personal blogs. They don’t promote anything or try to tell me what to wear or eat or craft. (I also see that each has its own URL, no “wordpress” or “blogger” involved in there. Something to work toward …)

So that’s what you’ll get with Curious Jac: personal stuff, and stuff I love. Because that’s the stuff that’s fun to talk about.

And if you don’t love blogging, you’re doing it wrong.

