Tags

,

It’s no secret that most business make a bulk of their sales over the holidays. My tiny Etsy shop has certainly seen that uptick from late November through mid December in years past.

But this year, things got a little crazy. Part of that was me going and scheduling a bunch of weekends out of town (aside from Boston, I visited friends near Cincinnati this past weekend, and I’m going to spend a few days at my folks’ coming up here in a few days).

Another part of that was simple crazy sales.

I’m so, so, so proud of what Jac & Elsie accomplished this season. It was way beyond my wildest expectations and, frankly, it caught me a little unawares. Next year, I will know better. I will not run out of basic supplies.

But I will also take a hint from this year’s experience, too: I will, once again, close shop sometime in mid-December.

You see, I love the holidays. I love planning lunch and dinner dates with friends. I love traveling out-of-state to see loved ones. I love Christmas shopping and wrapping gifts and spending time drinking wine with my huny.

And, yes, all that takes precedence over spending four hours a night putting together holiday orders. I love helping people find that perfect gift. The feedback telling me buyers can’t wait to give their Jac & Elsie necklaces to a friend or a daughter or sibling is cooler than I can possibly explain.

But I will never let that get in the way of my holiday celebration. This year, it got to be too much, so I put my shop in vacation mode last week. It took me about a week or two to come to this decision, because … I’m saving money for a wedding. Don’t want to earn as much as possible? And, what if people forget about me once I go off the map for a few weeks?

However, this was a nice little reminder to what is important to me. I love my Etsy shop. I love helping people find a perfect gift. I even love dealing with people — I love when they contact me for a custom order and when I get little thank you convos from happy buyers.

Image

A man contacted me interested in a sterling hairdresser necklace I have in the shop. He wanted to update it with a vintage style of pearl and a longer chain for this girlfriend. I’m so, so happy with how it turned out. The pearl we agreed on is just stunning.

But more than that, I love the people in my life. I love that I have the means to shut down this other source of income during a busy season to better enjoy my time with those people in my life.

I wish you a very, very happy season. Jac & Elsie will see you later this month, or possibly in early January. I have ideas for new friendship sets, and I’m excited to get making.

But first, I’m excited to just be for a bit.

