Tags

, , , , , ,

I’m not sure I’ve ever properly expressed my love of “The Big Bang Theory” on here, but it needs to be said: The show is glorious.

It has a strong female character who doesn’t make me want to vomit for the future of womankind (I’m looking at you, Jess from “The New Girl”), the writing is some of the best 30-minutes sitcom writing television has seen since “Friends” and (my go-to standard for whether I like a show)  I wish they were real people I could hang out with. (When I was little, I used to dream I was part of the friend group with the cast of “Saved By The Bell” … and “Grease” … As an adult, I have done this with “The Big Bang Theory” … and “Gossip Girl.”)

Now, despite my love for Sheldon, Penny really is the star of this show. Watching how much, and how believably, she has grown from the 22-year-old aspiring actress who moved in across the hall to that same aspiring actress with less wide-eyed wonder and more streets smarts is fascinating. I love that she can hold her own against her brainiac neighbors, and, frankly, I simply feel a kinship with her.

A coworker, who is also a “Big Bang” fan, has told me on multiple occasions how much Penny reminds him of me. I can’t fathom a better compliment (though I remain doubtful as to the accuracy of the observation).

So, a few months ago, I was watching an episode of “The Big Bang Theory.” It was a scene at the very end of the episode, where it’s only another few seconds before the end credits appear and we move on to “Two and a Half Men.” Penny had on a very, very colorful shirt, short sleeved, drapey collar, from the Kohl’s junior department.

I know this because I had on that very shirt all day. I jumped out of my chair, galloped to the dirty clothes in our room, got the shirt out of it and shouted at Jeff, “Look, look, I have a Penny shirt!!!” And this is it. She wore it again on a recent episode:

And then, last week, it happened again. Except this time, my famous piece of clothing was not worn by a woman I admire on a show I proudly adore. It was on a whiny, obnoxious 14-year-old snit on “The Carrie Diaries.”

Yes, in last week’s Halloween episode … Dorrit had on my pants. These:

I got them in the super duper bargain clearance section of Kohl’s junior department. They’re skinny jeans that actually work on my big tush and little waist, and they are comfy. This is just me explaining why a 29-year-old woman in 2013  is wearing the same pants as a 14-year-old girl in a TV show based in 1984.

Has this ever happened to you before?? And … is it totally weird to get excited when you see a piece of your clothing be famous on TV? (Also … kudos to whomever is doing Kohl’s TV public relations. Clearly, it’s working.)

 

