Tags

, , , , ,

Years ago, when I first my Taylor Swift song, I was hesitant. I wasn’t sure I saw what everyone else saw, largely because I am not a fan of country music. She clearly couldn’t hit her notes, and her producers didn’t even try to hide that fact.

I didn’t get it.

But then, a few songs started to get under my skin. I heard “Back to December” and found it beautiful and honest. The story she told in “Love Story” was sweet, like skipping stones or kicking your feet off a bridge over a small river. I started to mind less that she couldn’t hit her notes, because there’s some type of appealing emotion to that. (Have you ever heard Connor Oberst sing? I don’t think he’s ever hit a note in his life, but his voice is so raw, listing to his music makes you feel like a voyeur into his guts, and it’s brilliant. Not to compare Swift to Bright Eyes, but she tries to do a similar thing.)

The more famous she got, the more she was everywhere. With the debut of “Red,” I found that I heard less about her music and more about her boyfriends. And I started to judge these boyfriends. What fool dates a woman knowing she is going to write songs about him and make millions of people sing along with how terribly he treated her?

She’s young, I told myself. She naive. It happens. Fame happens, and she doesn’t know how to deal with it. Whatever. I don’t own her albums, so I don’t support the zeitgeist. Singing along with her catchy tunes on the radio is fine.

But now, today, all over the Interwebs, this. And this. And this. All multiplied by 2,000.

If you’ve missed it, Swift is the cover girl on the next issue of Vanity Fair to his newsstands, and in it, she speaks out about Tina Fey and Amy Poehler’s little diss of her at the Oscars.

Swift’s response? To quote something Katie Couric told her.

“You know, Katie Couric is one of my favorite people. Because she said to me she had heard a quote that she loved, that said, ‘There’s a special place in hell for women who don’t help other women.’”

So … Fey and Poehler mocked Swift … because they’re comedians (and because Swift really must try to do things to be mocked) … and they belong in hell for it.

((sigh))

There are so many things to say to this. So many. But I sum it up in three words.

Dude, grow up.

Is she trying to make sure the public views her as a little girl? Because her response is beyond junior high, right from naming something a popular woman told her — probably in a very different circumstance — to use as a shield to deflect the truth behind Poehler and Fey’s joke. It’s hard enough to wrap your head around the fact that Swift is just about the same age as Adele (23 and 24, respectively — yeah, I can’t believe it either), so clearly, the immaturity thing is something she is purposely cultivating.

But at a certain age, at a certain time in your life, you need to act like an adult. And I’d say, in Taylor Swift’s case, that’s right around the time you sell your millionth album. Fey and Poehler called Glenn Close out for being a drunk, but you don’t see her whining about it. She laughed about it. She egged them on. She took it like a grown up.

Over the months, Swift has done more and more to make me like her less and less. Is anyone else there, too?

