If you want to check up, you can read last week’s thankfulness wrap-up here.

I am thankful:

  • For my lifestyle. My employer this year adopted a family to help with the holidays. This family is a 26-year-old single woman with a toddler and a baby. In addition to asking for Christmas gifts like clothing and scented lotions, this woman is requesting, for example, “flour, sugar, salt, pepper.” I buy for these families every year, and I have to stop myself from agreeing to purchase too much, as I want to go on a shopping spree for this single mom who needs pepper. I don’t know why or how I got so lucky to have been given the life I have. Yeah, it took a lot of hard work, but it’s much more than work. I am thankful every day for what I have, and often in wonderment at it all. I certainly don’t feel I deserve it.
  • For my job. Switching careers was a scary decision, but for me, at the time, it was the right decision. I’m thankful that when my alarm goes off, I want to stay in bed just because I like sleep — not because I don’t want to be at work. I’m thankful that I have a talented boss who teaches me things every day, and that I have fun coworkers. And, yeah, I’m thankful that my employer provides rad benefits.
  •  That I moved to the current city I call home. It introduced me to so many people I love. I’ve met a husband, incredible in-laws, best friends. Marrying Jeff was hands-down the easiest decision I’ve ever made; moving here, however, was the best.

What have you been thankful for this week?

