Tags

,

Well, this week marks the third round of thankfulness … and Thanksgiving is in less than a week. One thing I love about the new gig is being on a scholastic calendar again. It’s always been one of my favorite ways to mark the time. I know that next week, students are here Monday only. Which means campus is going to be a ghost town on Tuesday and Wednesday. And I get a work-sanctioned four-day weekend, so I’m a happy camper.

I’ll try my best to remember next week’s wrap-up of thankfulness, but let’s be honest — I’m going to be simultaneously in a food coma and elbowing my way through Kohl’s for some gifts. (Yes, I Black Friday. No, I don’t go to the malls. Yes, it’s worth it.)

Anywho, let’s do this thing!

  • I’m thankful for Jac & Elsie. I’ve been running this shop for 4 1/2 years (longer than college!?) and it has brought me more joy than I could have ever thought starting out. Not only is it the joy of creating, which I knew about going in, but it’s the joy in knowing I helped someone find a perfect gift, of knowing I helped a bride locate her wedding necklace, of knowing someone treated herself today. I feel honored to do this, and that’s not something I expected to get out of this whole thing.
  • I’m thankful for my in-laws. Growing up, you always hear that in-laws are supposed to be a bad thing, something that is a packaged deal when you marry your beloved. This is not the case here. My parents-in-law are wonderful people, generous, with huge hearts. They are so welcoming of me into their family, and they have been from the first moment I met them. My siblings-in-law are awesome. I enjoy spending time with them, and it makes get-togethers so much fun — not something to be endured, but enjoyed and looked forward to. My nieces are just what I always wanted. I lucked out, yo.

    One of my fav pics, with Jeff, his brothers and sister-in-law. Taken New Year’s Eve, 2010.

  • And, forgive the obviousness of this, but: I’m thankful today is Friday. Jeff and I are doing some Christmas shopping in a small town about 50 minutes away tomorrow. It’s a number of small, locally owned stops with wonderful gifts. On the way, we pass some great antiquing. (HE is the one who said “We can stop at that one antique place, right?”) Dinner and movie plans with friends tomorrow night. Putting up the trees (ahem, plural) Sunday. I’m a happy girl.

What have you been thankful for this week?

