Tags

, , , , , ,

A year and a half ago, I completed the Great Studio Reorganization of 2013. My studio went from a room that served no purpose other than to collect shit to one that could actually serve as a studio. A place for everything and everything in its place, as they say.

The studio stayed beautiful and tidy for a good long time. However, the space, over time, became cluttered. Today, it is nowhere near the mess it was before GSR13, but it’s still pretty bad. The biggest issue is that I have no idea how to store the cardboard boxes save from online purchases (I use them to ship large orders, like bridesmaid sets). So they’re just in a jumble on the floor.

Sigh. Remember when the Jac & Elsie studio looked like this? I almost forgot.

One reason for the mess is that I don’t spend much time in my studio. In fact, over the holidays, I spent virtually no time in there–only for runs to get the appropriate supplies to make my orders and package them in the living room, in front of the television. And my Decembers are whatever holiday fun I can squeeze into my “all jewelry making, all the time” days. (On a semi-related note, December 2014 was my best holiday yet. THANK YOU.) And since so much of my free time was spent making jewelry, I don’t want to do this alone. And I want to watch TV.

Now, I have a television in my studio. It was a Christmas gift last year–a small flat-screen that is perfect for my work space. However, I don’t have a cable line in the room and can watch only DVDs. As a vast majority of my jewelry-making occurs during prime time, I have to watch my programs. (Did anyone else’s grandmother call them that? “Programs”?)

But, more, is the loneliness. I may not be a big-crowd kind of girl, but my husband and I both work 8-to-5 jobs. In the evenings, I want to be with him. As much as I need my studio space for storage and photography, the actual making and packaging is completely doable in the living room. Now that I have a wireless printer, I don’t even need to be in the space to print my postage labels.

When I finally tackle the room again, I will undoubtedly spend more time in there, if for no other reason than I haven’t listed anything new in Jac & Elsie since before December, and I’m itching to take some product photos and list my pieces.

These are the sorts of bins I need to hide the Jac & Elsie supplies that have taken up shop in the living room. (Click the pic to see more.)

But I know I’ll never fully depart from jewelry in the living room. I think it’s time for some Target bins.

To anyone with a home studio or office: How much time do you spend in there? Do you get lonely? Do you love it as a get-away? Maybe if I had kids or other interruptions when I worked, I’d use the space more.

