Tags

, , ,

Everybody talks about wanting to change things and help and fix, but ultimately all you can do is fix yourself. And that’s a lot. Because if you can fix yourself, it has a ripple effect.” ~Rob Reiner

I’ve been in a rut lately. I’ve felt bored a lot–personally, at work, in general–which isn’t something I often feel in any of those places.

Last week, I went to dinner with a friend, and we discussed our respective ruts. I told him that, as new age’y and cheesy as it sounds, I fully believe that simply being positive can help a lot. And I’ve recently read something about why hitting the snooze button can completely ruin your day. So I figured I’d start mornings this week with that teeny, positive step.

sleep

The idea behind not snoozing is pretty simple: By getting up when you originally intend, you’re starting your day by taking control of it. (This doesn’t even begin to touch on all the health reasons behind ditchingsnooze.”) I mentioned it in a staff meeting last week, and the response was unanimous: We all had generally better days when we got up on-time instead of inching our ways into lateness, nine minutes at a time. (Aside: Why on earth are snoozes nine minutes? How arbitrary.)

The ideal appeals to me, especially because I never actually fall back asleep when I hit “snooze.” So I went with it, unwittingly bringing along a little bit of positivity to my mornings, which is never a bad thing.

So yesterday, not 10 seconds after I hit “snooze,” I said, “NOPE.” I shut off my alarm and I got up. Just that tiny “I’M THE BOSS OF ME” moment made my morning a little happier. Did it have a huge impact on the rest of my day? Eh, not so much. But it was a good start.

Today, I woke up a few minutes before my alarm (which I really hate) and snuggled in until the alarm sounded. It wasn’t hard to shut it off and get up immediately. I suspect it’ll just get easier as the week goes on.

Snoozing is new business for me. I NEVER hit it before I got married. But my husband loves his snooze button, and his bad habit rubbed off. This week, though, I’m noticing that MY new habit is starting to rub off–he got up WAY earlier today. Heeeyyyy, look at me, being a good influence!

