Music, Uncategorized

The case for Macklemore & Ryan Lewis

Yesterday, a friend posted a status on Facebook expressing her disdain for Macklemore & Ryan Lewis. Now, this is not a big deal. There are plenty of popular musicians I don’t “get” (Journey and U2, I’m looking at you), but for some reason, I kept thinking about this.

And I kept wondering, why on earth am I still thinking about this?

think I’m still thinking about it because I find Macklemore’s music so … joyful. And, yes, important. It’s not just your every day hip hop/pop. It’s more than that.

The first time I heard “Thrift Store” was in the car. I was pulling into my garage, and I waited until the song was over to get out of the car, in part because I was laughing so hard, I didn’t want to stop the moment. I promptly pulled up the video on YouTube and proceeded my giggling. When Jeff got home, I made him watch the video, and even the man who doesn’t care for rap had to admit it was a catchy, fun and frickin’ hilarious song.

“Thrift Store” playing at my wedding is one of my favorite memories from the day. I can see my sister-in-law’s face as she sang every word; I can see the best man’s wife doing her “gangsta dirrrty” face as she danced; I can see my aunts dancing together, and cousins and more friends — all people who had never met and will likely never meet again, loving life.

Later in the night, when “Can’t Hold Us” came on, the same thing happened. This memory involves the maid of honor with her eyes closed, dancing all by herself in a little bubble of glee. A few weeks later, at said maid of honor’s sister’s wedding, the bride played the song and dedicated it to her nephew. It’s his favorite song, and it makes his little body boogie like a baby beast.

Sure, “Same Love” doesn’t fall in the same joyful, happy category as the first two ditties. Instead, it’s important. It represents something huge, a shift in rap and hip hop toward acceptance when it tends to veer toward anger and sex. “Same Love” is what “Born this Way” tried to be, but failed in part because of some weird insistence that it was too Madonna-like. “Same Love” is simple. It’s not meant to be danced to. It’s not meant to be a sing-along. It’s meant to convey a message, and it does so beautifully. By the time the chorus kicks in, I’m choked up, every time. Musically, I find it the standout of Macklemore’s three songs.  The style is more of spoken-word poetry than rap, and it’s lovely, and so perfect for the music and the message. (I just watched the video for the first time. What chilling, really brilliant storytelling.)

For a musician to be able to take us from stealing stuff from a thrift shop to conveying a real, timely, important message in three songs is the stuff good stuff is made of. Will Macklemore and Ryan Lewis still be making music in 10 years? I have no idea. But today, in 2013, I’m trying to think of a current song that made me as happy as “Thrift Shop,” and one that matters as much as “Same Love.” I can’t do it. The music just might be some of the best stuff out there right now.

5 thoughts on “The case for Macklemore & Ryan Lewis”

  1. So far I have only listened to Thrift Shop and I love it because it’s such a fun song! I am going to have to listen to the others, but I wanted to stop by and tell you what a wonderful post this is!

    Some people complain about everything, she is probably just sick of hearing that awesome song on the radio, just like I am sick of hearing how cool Pink! is from every not-hip person in the world. Why? Because she’s a “punk rock” pop star (anyone else thinking wtf here?!), lol. She is a rebel like I’m a supermodel (and I am NOT a supermodel!) Her music is catchy though, so I can’t say I dislike her, just her obnoxious rebel attitude and stupid hair. <—See?! now I'm doing it too!

    On a side note – I personally like some U2 songs, only because when I was in middle school they had that catchy Batman theme song that made me feel badass every time I listened to it because I wasn't allowed to as a kid. 🙂

    Again, great post!

  2. I think the thing about ANY kind of music is that not everyone is going to love it. I am MADLY in love with Maroon 5. So many of their songs I can remember the first time I heard it, how Adam sang it at one of their concerts, what it makes me FEEL.

    But I know not everyone likes them. Heck, I know some people flat out do not like them.

    I will say thus far everything I’ve heard about Macklemore and Ryan Lewis is pretty awesome. I love jamming out in my car to that stuff!

    Oh and I am so glad I’m not the only one who doesn’t get U2. They just do not do it for me.

  3. I made the slide show/video for my son’s high school baseball team (after a long season that landed them in the final four in state!). I used Can’t Hold Us in the soundtrack – it was fun, the whole room was sort of dancing in their seats – even some parents 🙂
    Yeah, I really like these guys and their music. Maybe it helps that he’s a local boy that grew up in Seattle 😉

  4. I’d say being sick of hearing their songs on the radio is accurate. Complaining about everything… less accurate. One of my cherished wedding memories (dance-floor group karaoke) ties to a band Jac dislikes (Journey) — so hey, when it comes to music, best to agree to disagree. My opinions are weird, varied, passionate, even fleeting — I stress that my disdain for M&RL has ZIP to do with gay marriage/gay lyrics/social awareness — and I’ve learned that music is as hot-button for Facebookers as politics!

I want to hear what you think!